Monday, December 08, 2008

Veterans Committee Fails To Elect Anyone

Tony Oliva and Jim Kaat failed to get elected to the Hall of Fame today. In fact, so did everyone else. For the fourth straight time, the Veterans Committee failed to elect anyone into the Hall of Fame today from the post-1942 era. Too bad. Ron Santo? Luis Tiant? C'mon, these guys belong in there.

The committee did elect Joe Gordon from the pre-1943 category. Good for him. Not exactly a household name these days, but his stats are impressive.

I received a few successes in the mail today:

Al Rosen signed a really cool card from 1961 commemorating his MVP award in 1952. I have similar cards out to Dick Groat and Bobby Shantz.

Milt Pappas signed a 1960 Topps and 1960 Topps "Young Hill Stars".

Frank Kostro, former Minnesota Twin, signed his 1965 and 1969 Topps cards for me.

Today I mailed out a ball and 1976 Topps rookie card for a Dennis Eckersley signing later this month.

No comments: